Academic Tutorials



English | French | Portugese | Dutch | Italian
Google

Online

À la maison Codes sources E-Livres Téléchargements Nous contacter Au sujet de nous

HTML Tutorials
HTML Tutorial
XHTML Tutorial
CSS Tutorial
TCP/IP Tutorial
CSS 1.0
CSS 2.0
HLML
XML Tutorials
XML Tutorial
XSL Tutorial
XSLT Tutorial
DTD Tutorial
Schema Tutorial
XForms Tutorial
XSL-FO Tutorial
XML DOM Tutorial
XLink Tutorial
XQuery Tutorial
XPath Tutorial
XPointer Tutorial
RDF Tutorial
SOAP Tutorial
WSDL Tutorial
RSS Tutorial
WAP Tutorial
Web Services Tutorial
Browser Scripting
JavaScript Tutorial
VBScript Tutorial
DHTML Tutorial
HTML DOM Tutorial
WMLScript Tutorial
E4X Tutorial
Server Scripting
ASP Tutorial
PERL Tutorial
SQL Tutorial
ADO Tutorial
CVS
Python
Apple Script
PL/SQL Tutorial
SQL Server
PHP
.NET (dotnet)
Microsoft.Net
ASP.Net
.Net Mobile
C# : C Sharp
ADO.NET
VB.NET
VC++
Multimedia
SVG Tutorial
Flash Tutorial
Media Tutorial
SMIL Tutorial
Photoshop Tutorial
Gimp Tutorial
Matlab
Gnuplot Programming
GIF Animation Tutorial
Scientific Visualization Tutorial
Graphics
Web Building
Web Browsers
Web Hosting
W3C Tutorial
Web Building
Web Quality
Web Semantic
Web Careers
Weblogic Tutorial
SEO
Web Site Hosting
Domain Name
Java Tutorials
Java Tutorial
JSP Tutorial
Servlets Tutorial
Struts Tutorial
EJB Tutorial
JMS Tutorial
JMX Tutorial
Eclipse
J2ME
JBOSS
Programming Langauges
C Tutorial
C++ Tutorial
Visual Basic Tutorial
Data Structures Using C
Cobol
Assembly Language
Mainframe
Forth Programming
Lisp Programming
Pascal
Delphi
Fortran
OOPs
Data Warehousing
CGI Programming
Emacs Tutorial
Gnome
ILU
Soft Skills
Communication Skills
Time Management
Project Management
Team Work
Leadership Skills
Corporate Communication
Negotiation Skills
Database Tutorials
Oracle
MySQL
Operating System
BSD
Symbian
Unix
Internet
IP-Masquerading
IPC
MIDI
Software Testing
Testing
Firewalls
SAP Module
ERP
ABAP
Business Warehousing
SAP Basis
Material Management
Sales & Distribution
Human Resource
Netweaver
Customer Relationship Management
Production and Planning
Networking Programming
Corba Tutorial
Networking Tutorial
Microsoft Office
Microsoft Word
Microsoft Outlook
Microsoft PowerPoint
Microsoft Publisher
Microsoft Excel
Microsoft Front Page
Microsoft InfoPath
Microsoft Access
Accounting
Financial Accounting
Managerial Accounting


Concepts dans RDF

Previous Next





Nous pouvons distinguer trois genres de concepts dans le RDF : Les concepts fondamentaux, les concepts de schéma-définition (utiles pour définir nouveaux vocabulaires) et les concepts de service (sont les concepts qui ne sont pas absolument nécessaires, mais sont susceptibles d'être utiles dans le domaine l'un des d'application).


Les concepts fondamentaux

Ressource de RDF

RDF est au sujet de décrire les ressources ; selon les « ressources sont toujours appelés par URIs » et « quelque chose peut avoir URI ». Ainsi un RDF peut théoriquement être employé pour décrire n'importe quoi. Pourtant il a principalement conçu pour manipuler les ressources recouvrables de « réseau ».

[] souligne que « la ressource est tracer conceptuel à une entité (...), non nécessaire qui l'entité qui correspond à ceci qui trace à n'importe quel exemple particulier de temps ». De quelque manière que la majeure partie du temps nous sommes intéressés par les entités elles-mêmes. Il est donc important de noter que les méta-données que nous exprimons au sujet des ressources peuvent exiger les différents niveaux de l'interprétation, celle peuvent être valides dans certain contexte seulement.

Par exemple, logo des retours W3C d'URI http://www.w3.org/Icons/WWW/w3c_main dans un format de png ou de GIF, selon le navigateur étant employé. Un autre exemple est le rapport quotidien de temps, dont l'URL renverrait une page différente chaque jour.

Il suit que l'interprétation des ressources (et donc des triples de RDF) est fortement contextuelle. Nous pouvons définir la notion d'une ressource stable comme suit : La stabilité pour la ressource est une propriété d'être la même dans n'importe quel contexte, du point de vue d'utilisateur (ou communauté des utilisateurs). Cette définition est toujours très contextuelle : elle dépend des utilisateurs que nous considérons, plus avec précision du charger qu'ils doivent accomplir.

Considérer pour un exemple, d'un point de vue standard de lecteur de, le logo de W3C est stable, regard depuis de GIF et de png versions les mêmes, mais un rapport de temps n'est pas stable. D'une part, quelqu'un intéressé aux formats d'image seulement peut considérer le logo de W3C instable et survivre à l'écurie de rapport -- en assumant un temps rapporter comme en produisant toujours des images dans un même format. Cependant, dans la plupart des applications, charger est moins pour changer qu'en recherchant le contexte, ainsi la prétention de stabilité pourrait être valeur.

Propriété de RDF

Les propriétés sont les ressources utilisées comme attribut des triples ; la sémantique d'un triple dépend clairement d'une propriété utilisée comme attribut. Deux choses sont très importantes avec ce concept de propriété :

Premièrement, Le RDF considère des propriétés car le premier objet de classe, à la différence de la majeure partie de l'objet modelant des langues, où les propriétés sont les attributs d'une classe. Même si le concept de la classe existe dans le RDF, des propriétés peuvent être définies et employées indépendamment des classes.

Deuxièmement, car on lui a mentionné, le fait que les propriétés sont les ressources laisse les décrire avec le RDF lui-même. Ce sera employé couramment par les concepts suivants.

Rapport de RDF

Un rapport est une ressource reifying le triple. Une telle ressource doit avoir des propriétés de l'atleast trois : le RDF : sujet, le RDF : objet et RDF : attribut, évalué par les ressources correspondantes.

Le reification des triples peut sembler un concept de service plutôt que le concept fondamental. Néanmoins il est défini comme partie de modèle dans une recommandation de W3C. Ceci soutiendra la volonté pour employer le RDF en tant que son propre méta-système, pour rendre chaque élément du RDF descriptible dans RDF lui-même.


Les concepts de définition de schéma

Dans les schémas, de nouvelles ressources peuvent être définies comme spécialisation de la vieille, de ce fait laissant impliquer des triples implicites. Les schémas contraint également le contexte dans lequel les ressources définies peuvent être employées, induisant la notion de la validité de schéma. Nous verrons que ces deux notions peuvent être vues en tant qu'une, dans un point de vue basé sur la logique de premier ordre. Elles tout peuvent être exprimées comme règles laissant impliquer de nouveaux faits (fondamentalement, les nouveaux triples ou négations des triples). Dans ces règles, l'attribut 3 logique ary sera employé pour représenter le triple cru.

RDFS : subPropertyOf

La propriété l'une des dénote la relation entre les ressources (l'ensemble d'une ressource couple lié par l'arc marqué avec une propriété). RDFS : le subPropertyOf s'applique aux propriétés et doit être interprété comme relation de sous-ensemble entre la relation qu'elles dénotent. Ainsi la règle suivante se tient :

Par exemple, si la « mère » est secondaire-propriété de « parent », triple ayant la « mère » comme l'attribut devrait également être considéré en tant qu'ayant le « parent » comme attribut. Cette propriété est très importante dans les définitions de schéma pour l'interopérabilité entre les agents de RDF. Dans l'exemple ci-dessus, l'agent ne sachant pas la sémantique de la « mère » pourrait au moins la traiter en tant que « parent » (l'assumant sait la sémantique du « parent »). Depuis le RDFS : le subPropertyOf dénote une relation de sous-ensemble, la règle de transitivité également se tiennent :

Noter qu'on le considère comme inadmissible avoir les cycles dans RDFS : subPropertyOf, bien qu'il ne définisse pas la manière d'exprimer cette contrainte en RDF4. Quoi qu'il en soit, la règle logique correspondante est la suivante (puisque le cycle l'un des résulterait, avec la transitivité, dans une propriété étant sa propre secondaire-propriété) :

Noter qu'il n'y a aucun URI standard pour une propriété universelle (superbe-propriété de propriété l'une des).

RDFS : Classer, rdf : type et le RDFS : subClassOf

Les classes sont les ressources dénotant un ensemble des ressources, par les moyens de la propriété RDF : dactylographier (exemples qui ont la propriété RDF : dactylographier évalué par une classe). Puisque tous ensembles de ressources présentées dans cette section sont des ressources (ils ont un URI), par définition ils ont la propriété RDF : dactylographier évalué par le RDFS : Classe. D'une part, toutes propriétés (définies dans la recommandation de W3C ou dans tout schéma) ont RDF : dactylographier évalué par RDF : Propriété.

Des classes sont structurées comme les propriétés, dans une hiérarchie de sous-ensemble dénotée par la propriété RDFS : subClassOf. Quant à RDFS : le subPropertyOf, cycles ne devrait pas exister bien qu'il puisse être employé pour exprimer l'équivalence, mais le contraire à la hiérarchie de propriété, la hiérarchie de classe a l'élément maximum : c'est naturellement le RDF : Ressource (tellement n'importe quel bidon de classe a implicitement le RDFS : subClassOf évalué par le RDFS : Ressource). Les règles suivantes, semblables aux règles liées au RDFS : le subPropertyOf, se tiennent :

RDFS : domaine et RDFS : gamme

Ces propriétés s'appliquent aux propriétés et doivent être évaluées par les classes. Elles sont employées pour limiter un ensemble de ressources qui peuvent avoir la propriété donnée (le domaine de la propriété) et l'ensemble de valeurs valides pour la propriété (sa gamme). Une propriété peut avoir autant de valeurs pour le RDFS : domaine comme nécessaire, mais pas plus d'une valeur pour le RDFS : gamme

Pour que le triple soit valide, l'objet doit match la gamme (si quels) de l'attribut (c'est-à-dire, il devrait avoir le RDF : le type évalué par la classe correspondante ou une de ses sous-classes), et le sujet le match au moins un des domaines (si quel) de l'attribut (la note qui si l'attribut a les superbe-propriétés, ceci devraient également être examinés périodiquement pour assurer tous). Ceci de bidon bne logiquement exprimé par :

Il vaut la peine de noter que, bien que ce deux règles soient prévues pour être employées pour la validité vérifiant seulement, et le premier (RDFS : la règle de domaine) peut être employée réellement seulement de cette façon (elle ne peut pas être employée pour exécuter l'inférence puisque sa conséquence est de façon existentielle qualifiée), le second (RDFS : la règle de gamme) a différentes interprétations selon le monde de fermé ou ouvert de présomption. Dans une hypothèse fermée du monde, n'importe quel triple absent est considéré nié, ainsi un RDFS : la règle de gamme a pour être vérifiée seulement. Mais dans l'hypothèse ouverte du monde, les triples absents ne sont pas nécessairement d'être faux, ainsi la règle peut être employée pour exécuter l'inférence à la place. Puisque le champ « normal » du RDF est Web, où l'information est par l'essence distribuée et inachevée, l'hypothèse ouverte du monde semble être beaucoup plus raisonnable.

RDFS : Littéral

Rdfs d'une ressource : Coquille, dénotant l'ensemble de coquilles, avoué comme classe (bien que les coquilles ne sont pas les ressources, conformément à la recommandation !). Son utilisation prévue est d'être une gamme des propriétés.


Les concepts de service

Ces concepts pourraient avoir été définis dans les schémas externes, mais puisqu'ils sont utiles commun, ils ont été définis une fois pour toutes dans un schéma de noyau.

RDFS : Récipient

Les récipients sont la collection de ressources. Ils sont modelés par l'exemple d'une des trois sous-classes de RDFS : Récipient : le RDF : Sac (collection non commandée), RDF : Seq (collection commandée) ou RDF : Alt (une alternative). L'adhésion est modelée par les propriétés automatiquement produites RDF : _ 1, RDF : _ 2, etc. Ces propriétés sont les exemples de RDFS : ContainerMembershipProperty, une sous-classe de RDF : Property5.

RDFS : ConstraintResource et RDFS : ConstraintProperty

Il peut être intéressant que l'agent de RDF soit informé d'une ressource inconnue (ou plus spécifiquement de la propriété) définit la contrainte de validité. L'ensemble de telles ressources est RDFS : ConstraintResource. Sa sous-classe RDFS : ConstraintProperty est naturellement la sous-classe de RDF : Propriété aussi. Les propriétés RDFS : domaine et RDFS : la gamme définie ci-dessus sont les exemples de RDFS : ConstraintProperty.

RDFS : seeAlso et RDFS : isDefinedBy

Une ressource donnée pourrait avoir pour être décrite dans plus d'un endroit au-dessus de l'Internet. Le RDFS : la propriété de seeAlso peut être employée pour préciser les descriptions alternatives de la ressource soumise. Sa secondaire-propriété RDFS : isDefinedBy se dirige plus spécifiquement à la description originale ou bien fondée.

RDFS : étiquette et RDFS : commentaire

Il pourrait être utile de décrire la ressource avec le texte lisible pour l'homme en plus des propriétés « pures » de RDF ; c'est le rôle de RDFS : étiquette et RDFS : commentaire. L'ancien est employé pour donner le nom lisible pour l'homme d'une ressource, le dernier, pour donner la description plus longue. Noter qu'ils peuvent avoir les valeurs multiples pour les besoins d'internationalisation.






Previous Next

Keywords: rdf model, resource description framework xml, rdf statements, rdf schema


HTML Quizes
HTML Quiz
XHTML Quiz
CSS Quiz
TCP/IP Quiz
CSS 1.0 Quiz
CSS 2.0 Quiz
HLML Quiz
XML Quizes
XML Quiz
XSL Quiz
XSLT Quiz
DTD Quiz
Schema Quiz
XForms Quiz
XSL-FO Quiz
XML DOM Quiz
XLink Quiz
XQuery Quiz
XPath Quiz
XPointer Quiz
RDF Quiz
SOAP Quiz
WSDL Quiz
RSS Quiz
WAP Quiz
Web Services Quiz
Browser Scripting Quizes
JavaScript Quiz
VBScript Quiz
DHTML Quiz
HTML DOM Quiz
WMLScript Quiz
E4X Quiz
Server Scripting Quizes
ASP Quiz
PERL Quiz
SQL Quiz
ADO Quiz
CVS Quiz
Python Quiz
Apple Script Quiz
PL/SQL Quiz
SQL Server Quiz
PHP Quiz
.NET (dotnet) Quizes
Microsoft.Net Quiz
ASP.Net Quiz
.Net Mobile Quiz
C# : C Sharp Quiz
ADO.NET Quiz
VB.NET Quiz
VC++ Quiz
Multimedia Quizes
SVG Quiz
Flash Quiz
Media Quiz
SMIL Quiz
Photoshop Quiz
Gimp Quiz
Matlab Quiz
Gnuplot Programming Quiz
GIF Animation Quiz
Scientific Visualization Quiz
Graphics Quiz
Web Building  Quizes
Web Browsers Quiz
Web Hosting Quiz
W3C Quiz
Web Building Quiz
Web Quality Quiz
Web Semantic Quiz
Web Careers Quiz
Weblogic Quiz
SEO Quiz
Web Site Hosting Quiz
Domain Name Quiz
Java Quizes
Java Quiz
JSP Quiz
Servlets Quiz
Struts Quiz
EJB Quiz
JMS Quiz
JMX Quiz
Eclipse Quiz
J2ME Quiz
JBOSS Quiz
Programming Langauges Quizes
C Quiz
C++ Quiz
Visual Basic Quiz
Data Structures Using C Quiz
Cobol Quiz
Assembly Language Quiz
Mainframe Quiz
Forth Programming Quiz
Lisp Programming Quiz
Pascal Quiz
Delphi Quiz
Fortran Quiz
OOPs Quiz
Data Warehousing Quiz
CGI Programming Quiz
Emacs Quiz
Gnome Quiz
ILU Quiz
Soft Skills Quizes
Communication Skills Quiz
Time Management Quiz
Project Management Quiz
Team Work Quiz
Leadership Skills Quiz
Corporate Communication Quiz
Negotiation Skills Quiz
Database Quizes
Oracle Quiz
MySQL Quiz
Operating System Quizes
BSD Quiz
Symbian Quiz
Unix Quiz
Internet Quiz
IP-Masquerading Quiz
IPC Quiz
MIDI Quiz
Software Testing Quizes
Testing Quiz
Firewalls Quiz
SAP Module Quizes
ERP Quiz
ABAP Quiz
Business Warehousing Quiz
SAP Basis Quiz
Material Management Quiz
Sales & Distribution Quiz
Human Resource Quiz
Netweaver Quiz
Customer Relationship Management Quiz
Production and Planning Quiz
Networking Programming Quizes
Corba Quiz
Networking Quiz
Microsoft Office Quizes
Microsoft Word Quiz
Microsoft Outlook Quiz
Microsoft PowerPoint Quiz
Microsoft Publisher Quiz
Microsoft Excel Quiz
Microsoft Front Page Quiz
Microsoft InfoPath Quiz
Microsoft Access Quiz
Accounting Quizes
Financial Accounting Quiz
Managerial Accounting Quiz

Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2003-2021 Vyom Technosoft Pvt. Ltd., All Rights Reserved.

Academic Tutorials



English | French | Portugese | German | Italian
Home Advertise Payments Recommended Websites Interview Questions FAQs
News Source Codes E-Books Downloads Jobs Web Hosting
Chats

RDF Tutorial
RDF Introduction
RDF Model
Concepts in RDF
XML Syntax for RDF
An Example for RDF
RDF Summary

HTML Tutorials
HTML Tutorial
XHTML Tutorial
CSS Tutorial
TCP/IP Tutorial
CSS 1.0
CSS 2.0
HLML
XML Tutorials
XML Tutorial
XSL Tutorial
XSLT Tutorial
DTD Tutorial
Schema Tutorial
XForms Tutorial
XSL-FO Tutorial
XML DOM Tutorial
XLink Tutorial
XQuery Tutorial
XPath Tutorial
XPointer Tutorial
RDF Tutorial
SOAP Tutorial
WSDL Tutorial
RSS Tutorial
WAP Tutorial
Web Services Tutorial
Browser Scripting
JavaScript Tutorial
VBScript Tutorial
DHTML Tutorial
HTML DOM Tutorial
WMLScript Tutorial
E4X Tutorial
Server Scripting
ASP Tutorial
PERL Tutorial
SQL Tutorial
ADO Tutorial
CVS
Python
Apple Script
PL/SQL Tutorial
SQL Server
PHP
.NET (dotnet)
Microsoft.Net
ASP.Net
.Net Mobile
C# : C Sharp
ADO.NET
VB.NET
VC++
Multimedia
SVG Tutorial
Flash Tutorial
Media Tutorial
SMIL Tutorial
Photoshop Tutorial
Gimp Tutorial
Matlab
Gnuplot Programming
GIF Animation Tutorial
Scientific Visualization Tutorial
Graphics
Web Building
Web Browsers
Web Hosting
W3C Tutorial
Web Building
Web Quality
Web Semantic
Web Careers
Weblogic Tutorial
SEO
Web Site Hosting
Domain Name
Java Tutorials
Java Tutorial
JSP Tutorial
Servlets Tutorial
Struts Tutorial
EJB Tutorial
JMS Tutorial
JMX Tutorial
Eclipse
J2ME
JBOSS
Programming Langauges
C Tutorial
C++ Tutorial
Visual Basic Tutorial
Data Structures Using C
Cobol
Assembly Language
Mainframe
Forth Programming
Lisp Programming
Pascal
Delphi
Fortran
OOPs
Data Warehousing
CGI Programming
Emacs Tutorial
Gnome
ILU
Soft Skills
Communication Skills
Time Management
Project Management
Team Work
Leadership Skills
Corporate Communication
Negotiation Skills
Database Tutorials
Oracle
MySQL
Operating System
BSD
Symbian
Unix
Internet
IP-Masquerading
IPC
MIDI
Software Testing
Testing
Firewalls
SAP Module
ERP
ABAP
Business Warehousing
SAP Basis
Material Management
Sales & Distribution
Human Resource
Netweaver
Customer Relationship Management
Production and Planning
Networking Programming
Corba Tutorial
Networking Tutorial
Microsoft Office
Microsoft Word
Microsoft Outlook
Microsoft PowerPoint
Microsoft Publisher
Microsoft Excel
Microsoft Front Page
Microsoft InfoPath
Microsoft Access
Accounting
Financial Accounting
Managerial Accounting
Network Sites


Concepts in RDF


Previoushome Next





We can distinguish three kinds of concepts in the RDF:

A D V E R T I S E M E N T
The fundamental concepts, The schema-definition concepts (useful for defining a new vocabularies) and The utility concepts (are the concepts which are not absolutely necessary, but are likely to be useful in any of the application domain).


The Fundamental concepts

RDF Resource

RDF is about describing the resources; according to the "resources are always named by URIs" and "anything can have URI". So an RDF can theoretically be used to describe anything. Yet it mainly designed to handle "network retrievable" resources.

[] underlines that "the resource is conceptual mapping to an entity (...), not necessary that the entity which corresponds to this mapping at any particular instance of time". However most of the time we are interested in the entities themselves. It is therefore important to note that meta-data we express about resources may require the different levels of interpretation, that may be valid in certain context only.

For example, URI http://www.w3.org/Icons/WWW/w3c_main returns W3C logo in a PNG or GIF format, depending on the browser being used. Another example is daily weather report, whose URL would return a different page each day.

It follows that interpretation of the resources (and therefore of the RDF triples) is highly contextual. We can define the notion of a stable resource as follows: The stability for the resource is a property of being the same in any context, from the user (or community of users) point of view. This definition is still very contextual: it is dependant on the users we are considering, more precisely on the task which they need to accomplish.

Consider for an example, from a standard reader point of view of, the W3C logo is stable, since GIF and PNG versions look the same, but a weather report is not stable. On the other hand, someone interested in image formats only may consider W3C logo unstable and weather report stable -- assuming a weather report as always generating images in a same format. However, in most of the applications, task is less likely to change than retrieving context, thus the stability assumption might be valuable.

RDF Property

Properties are the resources used as predicate of the triples; semantics of a triple clearly depends on a property used as predicate. Two things are very important with this concept of property:

Firstly, The RDF considers properties as the first class object, unlike most of the object modeling languages, where the properties are the attributes of a class. Even if the concept of the class exists in the RDF, properties can be defined and used independently of the classes. .

Secondly, as it has been mentioned, the fact that properties are the resources allows to describe them with the RDF itself. This will be widely used by the following concepts.

RDF Statement

A statement is a resource reifying the triple. Such a resource must have atleast three properties : the RDF:subject, the RDF :object and RDF:predicate, valued by corresponding resources.

The reification of the triples may seem a utility concept rather than the fundamental concept. Nevertheless it is defined as the part of model in a W3C recommendation. This will support the will to use the RDF as its own meta-system, to make every element of the RDF describable in RDF itself.


The Schema definition concepts

In the schemas, new resources can be defined as specialization of the old ones, thus allowing to infer implicit triples. Schemas also constrains the context in which the defined resources can be used, inducing the notion of the schema validity. We will see that those two notions can be seen as one, in a point of view based on the first-order logic. They all can be expressed as the rules allowing to infer new facts (basically, the new triples or negations of the triples). In these rules, the 3-ary logical predicate will be used to represent the believed triple.

RDFS:subPropertyOf

Any of the property denotes the relation between resources (the set of a resource couples linked by the arc labeled with a property). RDFS:subPropertyOf applies to the properties and must be interpreted as a subset relation between the relation which they denote. Thus the following rule does stand:

For example, if the "mother" is sub-property of "parent", any triple having the "mother" as predicate should also be considered as having "parent" as the predicate. This property is very important in the schema definitions for the interoperability between the RDF agents. In the example above, the agent not knowing the semantics of "mother" could at least treat it as the "parent" (assuming it knows semantics of the "parent"). Since the RDFS:subPropertyOf denotes a subset relation, the transitivity rule also do stand:

Note that it is considered invalid to have the cycles in RDFS:subPropertyOf, though it does not define the way to express this constraint in the RDF4. Anyway, the corresponding logical rule is the following (since any of the cycle would result, with the transitivity, in a property being its own sub-property):

Note that there is no standard URI for an universal property (super-property of any of the property).

RDFS:Class, rdf:type and the RDFS:subClassOf

Classes are the resources denoting a set of the resources, by the means of the property RDF:type (instances that have the property RDF:type valued by a class). Since all the sets of resources presented in this section are resources (they have an URI), by definition they do have the property RDF:type valued by the RDFS:Class. On the other hand, all the properties (defined in the W3C recommendation or in any schema) have RDF:type valued by RDF:Property.

Classes are structured in the same way as the properties, in a subset hierarchy denoted by the property RDFS:subClassOf. As for RDFS:subPropertyOf, cycles should not exist though it can be used to express the equivalence, but contrary to property hierarchy, the class hierarchy has the maximum element: it is of course the RDF:Resource (so any class can implicitly has the RDFS:subClassOf valued by the RDFS:Resource). The following rules, similar to the rules related to the RDFS:subPropertyOf, do stand:

RDFS:domain and RDFS:range

These properties do apply to the properties and must be valued by the classes. They are used to restrict a set of resources that may have the given property (the property's domain) and the set of valid values for the property (its range). A property may have as many values for the RDFS:domain as needed, but no more than one value for the RDFS:range

For the triple to be valid, object must match the range (if any) of predicate (that is, it should have the RDF:type valued by corresponding class or one of its subclasses), and the subject should match at least one of the domains (if any) of the predicate (Note that if the predicate has the super-properties, this should also be checked recursively for all of them). This can logically bne expressed by:

It is worth noting that, though this two rules are intended to be used for the validity checking only, and the first one (RDFS:domain rule) can actually be used only this way (it cannot be used to perform the inference since its consequence is existentially qualified), the second one (RDFS:range rule) has different interpretations depending on the hypothesizing closed or open world. In a closed world hypothesis, any missing triple is considered negated, so a RDFS:range rule has only to be verified. But in the open world hypothesis, missing triples are not necessarily to be false, so the rule can be used to perform the inference instead. Since the "natural" field of the RDF is web, where the information is by essence distributed and incomplete, the open world hypothesis seems to be much more reasonable.

RDFS:Literal

A resource rdfs:Literal, denoting the set of literals, declared as the class (though literals are not the resources, according to recommendation!). Its intended use is to be a range of properties.


The Utility concepts

These concepts might have been defined in the external schemas, but since they are of common use, they have been defined once for all in a core schema.

RDFS:Container

Containers are the collection of resources. They are modeled by the instance of one of the three subclasses of RDFS:Container: the RDF:Bag ( unordered collection ), RDF:Seq ( ordered collection ) or RDF:Alt ( an alternative ). Membership is modeled by the automatically generated properties RDF:_ 1, RDF:_ 2, etc. These properties are the instances of RDFS:ContainerMembershipProperty, a subclass of RDF:Property5.

RDFS:ConstraintResource and RDFS:ConstraintProperty

It can be interesting for the RDF agent to be informed of an unknown resource (or more specifically the property) is defining the validity constraint. The set of such resources is RDFS:ConstraintResource. Its subclass RDFS:ConstraintProperty is of course the subclass of RDF:Property too. The Properties RDFS:domain and RDFS:range defined above are the instances of RDFS:ConstraintProperty.

RDFS:seeAlso and RDFS:isDefinedBy

A given resource might have be described in more than one place over the internet. The RDFS:seeAlso property can be used to point out the alternative descriptions of the subject resource. Its sub-property RDFS:isDefinedBy more specifically points to the original or authoritative description.

RDFS:label and RDFS:comment

It could be useful to describe the resource with human readable text in addition to the "pure" RDF properties; this is the role of RDFS:label and RDFS:comment. The former is used to give the human-readable name of a resource, the latter, to give the longer description. Note that they can have the multiple values for internationalization needs.



Be the first one to comment on this page.




  RDF Tutorial eBooks

No eBooks on RDF could be found as of now.

 
 RDF Tutorial FAQs
More Links » »
 
 RDF Tutorial Interview Questions
More Links » »
 
 RDF Tutorial Articles

No RDF Articles could be found as of now.

 
 RDF Tutorial News

No News on RDF could be found as of now.

 
 RDF Tutorial Jobs

No RDF Articles could be found as of now.


Share And Enjoy:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • blinkbits
  • BlinkList
  • blogmarks
  • co.mments
  • connotea
  • del.icio.us
  • De.lirio.us
  • digg
  • Fark
  • feedmelinks
  • Furl
  • LinkaGoGo
  • Ma.gnolia
  • NewsVine
  • Netvouz
  • RawSugar
  • Reddit
  • scuttle
  • Shadows
  • Simpy
  • Smarking
  • Spurl
  • TailRank
  • Wists
  • YahooMyWeb

Previoushome Next

Keywords: rdf model, resource description framework xml, rdf statements, rdf schema

HTML Quizzes
HTML Quiz
XHTML Quiz
CSS Quiz
TCP/IP Quiz
CSS 1.0 Quiz
CSS 2.0 Quiz
HLML Quiz
XML Quizzes
XML Quiz
XSL Quiz
XSLT Quiz
DTD Quiz
Schema Quiz
XForms Quiz
XSL-FO Quiz
XML DOM Quiz
XLink Quiz
XQuery Quiz
XPath Quiz
XPointer Quiz
RDF Quiz
SOAP Quiz
WSDL Quiz
RSS Quiz
WAP Quiz
Web Services Quiz
Browser Scripting Quizzes
JavaScript Quiz
VBScript Quiz
DHTML Quiz
HTML DOM Quiz
WMLScript Quiz
E4X Quiz
Server Scripting Quizzes
ASP Quiz
PERL Quiz
SQL Quiz
ADO Quiz
CVS Quiz
Python Quiz
Apple Script Quiz
PL/SQL Quiz
SQL Server Quiz
PHP Quiz
.NET (dotnet) Quizzes
Microsoft.Net Quiz
ASP.Net Quiz
.Net Mobile Quiz
C# : C Sharp Quiz
ADO.NET Quiz
VB.NET Quiz
VC++ Quiz
Multimedia Quizzes
SVG Quiz
Flash Quiz
Media Quiz
SMIL Quiz
Photoshop Quiz
Gimp Quiz
Matlab Quiz
Gnuplot Programming Quiz
GIF Animation Quiz
Scientific Visualization Quiz
Graphics Quiz
Web Building Quizzes
Web Browsers Quiz
Web Hosting Quiz
W3C Quiz
Web Building Quiz
Web Quality Quiz
Web Semantic Quiz
Web Careers Quiz
Weblogic Quiz
SEO Quiz
Web Site Hosting Quiz
Domain Name Quiz
Java Quizzes
Java Quiz
JSP Quiz
Servlets Quiz
Struts Quiz
EJB Quiz
JMS Quiz
JMX Quiz
Eclipse Quiz
J2ME Quiz
JBOSS Quiz
Programming Langauges Quizzes
C Quiz
C++ Quiz
Visual Basic Quiz
Data Structures Using C Quiz
Cobol Quiz
Assembly Language Quiz
Mainframe Quiz
Forth Programming Quiz
Lisp Programming Quiz
Pascal Quiz
Delphi Quiz
Fortran Quiz
OOPs Quiz
Data Warehousing Quiz
CGI Programming Quiz
Emacs Quiz
Gnome Quiz
ILU Quiz
Soft Skills Quizzes
Communication Skills Quiz
Time Management Quiz
Project Management Quiz
Team Work Quiz
Leadership Skills Quiz
Corporate Communication Quiz
Negotiation Skills Quiz
Database Quizzes
Oracle Quiz
MySQL Quiz
Operating System Quizzes
BSD Quiz
Symbian Quiz
Unix Quiz
Internet Quiz
IP-Masquerading Quiz
IPC Quiz
MIDI Quiz
Software Testing Quizzes
Testing Quiz
Firewalls Quiz
SAP Module Quizzes
ERP Quiz
ABAP Quiz
Business Warehousing Quiz
SAP Basis Quiz
Material Management Quiz
Sales & Distribution Quiz
Human Resource Quiz
Netweaver Quiz
Customer Relationship Management Quiz
Production and Planning Quiz
Networking Programming Quizzes
Corba Quiz
Networking Quiz
Microsoft Office Quizzes
Microsoft Word Quiz
Microsoft Outlook Quiz
Microsoft PowerPoint Quiz
Microsoft Publisher Quiz
Microsoft Excel Quiz
Microsoft Front Page Quiz
Microsoft InfoPath Quiz
Microsoft Access Quiz
Accounting Quizzes
Financial Accounting Quiz
Managerial Accounting Quiz
Testimonials | Contact Us | Link to Us | Site Map
Copyright 2008. Academic Tutorials.com. All rights reserved Privacy Policies | About Us
Our Portals : Academic Tutorials | Best eBooksworld | Beyond Stats | City Details | Interview Questions | Discussions World | Excellent Mobiles | Free Bangalore | Give Me The Code | Gog Logo | Indian Free Ads | Jobs Assist | New Interview Questions | One Stop FAQs | One Stop GATE | One Stop GRE | One Stop IAS | One Stop MBA | One Stop SAP | One Stop Testing | Webhosting in India | Dedicated Server in India | Sirf Dosti | Source Codes World | Tasty Food | Tech Archive | Testing Interview Questions | Tests World | The Galz | Top Masala | Vyom | Vyom eBooks | Vyom International | Vyom Links | Vyoms | Vyom World
Copyright 2003-2017 Vyom Technosoft Pvt. Ltd., All Rights Reserved.